Steps on How to Entirely Delete Your WordPress Blog
For one reason or another, a situation may occur where you want to put a stop to your blogging career, be it professional or hobby-driven. In any case, you just want to delete your WordPress blog entirely.
If you’ve found yourself in this exact situation, our guide will show you how to delete WordPress blog.
Sometimes in life, we make impulsive decisions. While at the time it seems like we will feel the same about them in the long run, the truth is that oftentimes, we change our mind. And afterwards, it may be too late to go back to how things were before. This can also happen if you decide to delete your WordPress blog entirely without having any proper backup.
Therefore, the first thing that you should do before you delete your WordPress blog is to backup your content, in case you end up changing your mind. To do this, go to Tools >> Export. Then, click on the Download Export File button and wait a few moments.
Now, you should go to Tools and then access Erase Personal Data. First, you need to enter your username or email address in a blank field provided on the screen.
By clicking on the Send Request button, an email will be sent to your email address (check your Spam section). There you will be able to verify your request.
Once you send an email request, go to your email. Open the mail that you received and click on the link to confirm your request.
Finally, all that is left for you to do after confirmation is click on Erase Personal Data button. It will appear in your WordPress section where you sent your data erasure request.
Before we wrap it up, there is one more thing that we have to let you know. Namely, in case your domain is located on WordPress.com, you won’t be able to delete your website. Fear not, however, as there are ways out of this situation as well.
The first thing you can do in this scenario is move your domain to another registrar. Another option is to make your WordPress site private. You can do this by going to Settings >> Reading.
Here, you should mark “Discourage search engines from indexing this site”. Finally, click on Save Changes and you’re all done. Now, you are the only one who can see your blog.
As a final note
Lastly, we’d like to stress that even though you’ve deleted your blog, it can still appear on the Google results. This occurs because Google creates a cache of any website that can still stay there for a certain period of time.
One other less fortunate thing that can happen is if some spammer decides to scrape your entire website. If this happens, it will stay on the web until they decide to remove it. Hopefully, this won’t happen to you, but we wanted to inform you of this possibility regardless.
We hope that you found this article to be helpful. If you liked it, please feel free to check out some of these articles as well!